Spanish Autonomous Regions

Posted in Spanish Regions A to Z

Spain offers lots of choices to the tourists, from its lush forests and wild mountain peaks to its busy cities crammed with great art, architecture, laid back beach resorts, variety of food, etc with the different characteristics of each region, city or island.

Spanish Autonomous 17 Regions A - Z

Andalucía Aragón Asturias Balearic Islands
Basque Country

Canary Islands

Cantabria Castilla-La Mancha
Castilla y León Catalonia Extremadura Galicia

La Rioja



Navarra Valencia

Spanish Autonomous Regions - Location Map

Active Map of Spanish Autonomous 17 Regions

(Toggle to see the region)

List of Spanish Regions and their Provinces:

ANDALUCÍA is the most southern and largest region of Spain.

Provinces: Huelva, Sevilla, Cádiz, Málaga, Córdoba, Granada, Almería and Jaén.

ARAGÓN ranges from the Pyrenees, north of Huesca, through Zaragoza to the hills of the Teruel province.

Provinces: Huesca, Teruel and Zaragoza.

ASTURIAS is on the Spanish north coast – the Cantabrian Sea – Bay of Biscay. It's bordered on the east by Cantabria, on the south by Castilla y León and on the west by Galicia (Lugo).

Provinces: Oviedo, Gijón and Avilés.

BALEARIC ISLANDS are an archipelago in the western Mediterranean Sea, near the eastern coast of the Iberian Peninsula. They consist mainly of four large and one small island.

Provinces: Mallorca, Menorca, Ibiza, Formentera and Cabrera.

BASQUE COUNTRY is situated on the most northern part of Spain with borders to Cantabria, the Burgos province to the west, the Bay of Biscay to the north, France and Navarra to the east and La Rioja (the Ebro River) to the south.

Provinces: Álava (Vitoria), Guipúzcoa (San Sebastián) and Vizcaya (Bilbao).

CANARY ISLANDS also known as the Canaries are a Spanish archipelago in the outer most region of the European Union. It's located off the northwest coast of mainland Africa between Morocco and the Western Sahara. They consist mainly of seven large islands.

Provinces: Gran Canaria, Tenerife, Fuenteventura, Lanzarote, La Palma, Gomera and Hierro.

CANTABRIA is bordered on the east by the Basque Country (province of Biscay), on the south by Castilla and León, on the west by Asturias and on the north by the Cantabrian Sea.

Provinces: Santander.

CASTILLA-LA MANCHA is one of the most sparsley populated of Spain's autonomous regions and is bordered by Castilla y León, Madrid, Aragón, Valencia, Murcia, Andalucía and Extremadura.

Provinces: Albacete, Ciudad Real, Cuenca, Toledo and Guadalajara.

CASTILLA Y LEÓN is the largest autonomous community in Spain. It is bordered to the north by Asturias and Cantabria, to the east by Aragón, the Basque Country and La Rioja, to the southeast by Madrid and Castilla-La Mancha, to the south by Portugal and to the west by Galicia.

Provinces: Ávila, Salamanca, Segovia, Valladolid, Zamora, Palencia, Burgos and Soria.

CATALONIA borders with France and Andorra to the north, Aragón to the west, to the south with Valencia and to the east with the Mediterranean Sea.

Provinces: Barcelona, Tarragona, Lleida and Girona.

EXTREMADURA borders to the north by Castilla y León, to the south by Andalucía and to the east by Castilla-La Mancha.

Provinces: Cáceres and Badajoz.

GALICIA is in the northwest of Spain. It is bordered by Portugal to the south, to the east by Castilla y León and Asturias, to the west by the Atlantic Ocean and to the north by the Bay of Biscay.

Provinces: Vigo, Santiago de Compostela, La Coruña, Pontevedra and Orense.

MADRID is the capital and the largest city of Spain. It is the most populated municipality in the European Union. It is located on the river Manzanares in the centre of both the country and the Community of Madrid. It is bordered by Castilla y León y Castilla-La Mancha.

Provinces: Madrid.

MURCIA is in the southeastern part of Spain. It is located near the center of a fertile plain known as the orchard of Murcia. It is situated between Andalucía and Valencia on the Mediterranean coast.

Provinces: Cartagena.

NAVARRA is in the northern part of Spain. It is bordered in the north by the Pyrenees, in the south by the Ebro river and La Rioja, in the west by the Basque Country and in the east by Aragón.

Provinces: Pamplona.

VALENCIA is the third lasgest city of Spain. It is located in central and south- eastern Spain. It is bordered in the north by Catalonia, in the west by Aragón and Castilla-La Mancha, in the east by the Mediterranean Sea and in the south by Murcia.

Provinces: Alicante, Castellón and Valencia.

About Spain part of "Learn Spanish 4 Life Series" ebooksAbout Spain

“Cover design by Rebecca Swift”

ISBN: 978-1-909610-18-7 Mobi
ISBN: 978-1-909610-19-4 ePub

(a "Learn Spanish 4 Life Series" ebook)

Mention Spain and most people think about long, golden, sandy beaches crammed with sun seekers enjoying their summer holidays. But there is much more to this fascinating country than suntans and Sangria. Spain is a diverse country, with a long and varied history. Learn about the 17 geographic, autonomous regions and 50 provinces or the traditions, culture, fiestas, cuisine and wine. You will learn how the autonomous regions have their own cultural events, own food specialities, own traditions and their influences on the local cuisine and wine production.

Where can I buy this ebook?




"Learn Spanish 4 Life Series" ebooks

Learn the Spanish language to improve your business, for pleasure, in preparation for a holiday abroad or if you are hoping to extend your knowledge of the Spanish language. It doesn't matter whether you’re a student learning Spanish for the first time or an adult brushing up on the language before a business trip, there’s no better time to learn a language than right now.

Other Recommended Products: eReaders

Buy Now


back to ebook pages 1 2 3


No comments available for this post. Be the first one to post a comment!